It’s mine, all mine! Welcome to my new blog

It’s taken way too long but I’m finally launching a personal blog, one that allows me to write whatever I want. This is going to be awesome!

The lighthouse in the town where I live.

Why the title of All Things Great Lakes? Because the Great Lakes region  is one of the coolest places on the planet (at least among the places I’ve visited) and I plan to write about some of the region’s myriad of wondrous natural features, interesting places and intriguing people.

Sunset over Lake Michigan (photo taken at the Cut River in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula).

According to my friends, I’m unusual among Great Lakes residents: I’m one of those oddballs who moved to this part of the country and stayed, despite the economic woes, brutal winters, etc.

I was born and raised in suburban Los Angeles. I moved to Michigan in 1980 to attend college and never went back to the West Coast. One major reason, besides meeting and marrying the girl of my dreams, was the Great Lakes.

These lakes are beautiful, magical, inspiring. I’ve had the good fortune to spend time swimming, boating or fishing in each of these inimitable lakes that we call Superior, Michigan, Huron, Erie and Ontario.

Storm clouds over Lake Superior.

My plan for this blog is to write about anything related to the Great Lakes — good, bad and ugly. I will celebrate all that’s magnificent about these waters, point out the problems and call out individuals and organizations who neglect or abuse America’s sweetwater seas.

Clearly, I don’t have a monopoly on knowledge about Great Lakes issues. Not by a longshot. There are many other great blogs about the lakes and the issues facing these incomparable waters.

But I believe that there can never be too many people writing, photographing or singing about the Great Lakes. So I’m joining the discussion.

I hope others will tag along and share their thoughts about the lakes and all that happens in and around these freshwater wonders.

Onward …

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s mine, all mine! Welcome to my new blog

  1. Paul Keep says:

    Jeff: Good luck and have fun with this new blog. Knowing you, it will be outstanding and interesting for those of us who care deeply about the health of the Great Lakes. Paul.

  2. keepersofthewater says:

    Great blog! If I’m correct that lighthouse is in Grand Haven.

Leave a Reply

